home archive submission info about me! giveaway mybooks

Sunday, September 21, 2014

Book Review: Lark Rising


Title: Lark Rising

Author: Sandra Waugh

Genre: YA Fantasy

Book Blurb: 
Lark has foreseen two things—she will fall for a young man with sage green eyes,and he will kill her.

Sixteen-year-old Lark Carew is happiest close to home, tending her garden and gathering herbs for medicines. But when her Sight warns her that monsters called Troths will soon invade her village, Lark is summoned on a journey to seek help from the legendary Riders of Tarnec. Little does she suspect that one of the Riders, Gharain, is the very man who has haunted her visions. Or that the people of Tarnec have called her there for another reason: Lark is the Guardian of Life, the first of four Guardians who must awaken their powers to recover four stolen amulets. Together, the amulets—Life, Death, Dark, and Light—keep the world in Balance. To take back the Life amulet, Lark will have to discover her true inner strength and give in to a love that she swears will be her downfall.

Review:
The words of this book was simply lyrical.  Honestly, I think with a little bit of tweaking here and there, this entire novel could be told in poem form.  That being said, it took me a few chapters to get used to this writing style, but once I once on board, everything was smooth sailing. 



The writing was very descriptive (which basically goes hand in hand with the whole "lyrical wording" thing I was talking about earlier.)  As you know, many fantasy books include a lot of descriptive details, particularly in respect to the setting (ie. Eragon, Lord of the Rings), so I thought the writing style was quite well suited.

I really liked Lark, the main character of the book. True, she could be quite meek sometimes (especially in the beginning), but she gradually gains confidence, especially after meeting Rune.  However, I think my favorite character is Twig, a gnome.  He was kind of like comic relief after all the serious stuff happening, lol.


The plot was pretty good as well--I wouldn't say it was amazing, but it wasn't boring either.  Basically balance must be restored to the world and the four Guardians (with Lark being one of them) must find the stolen amulets to restore balance.  So yeah, while I'm sure there are other books that follow a similar plot structure, it still makes for an interesting storyline.

There was some romance-y stuff going on between Lark and Gharain, but nothing overwhelming.  (Perhaps because he tried to slice her in half the first time they met? :-P  No--that's not why--you'll have to read the book to find out!)  Bottom line is, their relationship was a lovely side plot that didn't over power the main plot.

And last but not least, before I sign off for today: There were many gorgeous quotes to be found in Lark Rising.  Here is one of my favorites. which occurs when Lark is trying to convince the Riders (think of them as kick ass Troth (scary monster troll creatures) killers) to arm her hometown and Marc, one of the Riders, respond:

"Those who are armed with weapons should not use them lightly.  Too many weapons cheapens power--cheapens life as well."

Before you go, be sure to check out the Lark Rising spotlight and giveaway (5 winners! Win your own signed copy of the book!)

Rating:

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Book Spotlight: Lark Rising



LARK RISING Digital Assets
Title: LARK RISING (Guardians of Tarnec #1)
Author: Sandra Waugh
Pub. Date: September 23, 2014
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384
Formats: Hardcover, eBook

Full of romance and nature magic, this debut fantasy is perfect for fans of Shannon Hale, Juliet Marillier, and Kristin Cashore.

“A beautifully realized world, a unique voice, and a compelling, action-packed story. This is a striking debut novel with a lovely folkloric flavor.” —Juliet Marillier, author of Wildwood Dancing

Lark has foreseen two things—she will fall for a young man with sage green eyes, and he will kill her.

Sixteen-year-old Lark Carew is happiest close to home, tending her garden and gathering herbs for medicines. But when her Sight warns her that monsters called Troths will soon invade her village, Lark is summoned on a journey to seek help from the legendary Riders of Tarnec. Little does she suspect that one of the Riders, Gharain, is the very man who has haunted her visions. Or that the people of Tarnec have called her there for another reason: Lark is the Guardian of Life, the first of four Guardians who must awaken their powers to recover four stolen amulets. Together, the amulets—Life, Death, Dark, and Light—keep the world in Balance. To take back the Life amulet, Lark will have to discover her true inner strength and give in to a love that she swears will be her downfall.

About Sandra:
Sandra grew up in an old house full of crowded bookshelves, in walking distance of an old library that allowed her to drag home a sack of six books at a time. It goes without saying, then, that she fell in love with the old house in Litchfield County, CT, because of its many bookshelves, and she lives there now with her husband, two sons, and a dog who snores. Loudly.

LARK RISING is her first novel and the first in the GUARDIANS OF TARNEC series. SILVER EVE follows in 2015.

Be Sure to Enter the Giveaway Below for the Chance to Win One of Three Prize Packs!





Monday, September 15, 2014

Just A Quick Update

Hello Everyone!  I know I haven't posted in quite a few days...So I thought I'll give you a quick update in the Literature World of Tina!

Books I'm Going to Be Readings Soon:

The Infinite Sea
I just preordered this book today and am supposed to be getting it on Thursday! So excited since I love this author's books...I think I might have to reread The 5th Wave soon!



Legend....wait for it...in Spanish
So, I got a rude slap to the face these past few weeks.  Spanish IV is hard. Like ridiculously hard.  If you can get an A in Spanish IV, then you could probably do Spanish three blindfolded, on one leg and with your hands tied behind your back.  So I decided to improve my Spanish and quickly bring it up to par to an A-game level by reading my current all-time favorite book in Spanish.  I've already read a couple pages (ie. free Amazon preview) and have established I actually can understand about 75% of the words...but I'm pretty sure that's because I've already memorized half of the book, lol.  Anyways--I can't believe it costs $23+ for one paperback book.  Oh well....let's see how long it takes for international shipping to deliver my new book to me (just ordered it today as well.)



The Young Elites
T minus 24 days until the release of The Young Elites!!!!   *runs around screaming and sends a silent prayer up to the reading gods that this book will be as awesome as Legend*





Any books you're looking forward to reading?