home archive submission info about me! giveaway mybooks

Tuesday, September 2, 2014

Release Day Party: The Winter People



Today is release day for THE WINTER PEOPLE by Rebekah Purdy we’re here to celebrate with a giveaway and an excerpt! Help us celebrate the release of this amazing book and enter to win a Winter Emergency Kit!


About the Book
THE WINTER PEOPLE
Author: Rebekah Purdy
Release Date: September 2, 2014
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Pages: 320
ISBN: 978-1622663682

An engrossing, complex, romantic fantasy perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore or Maggie Stiefvater, set in a wholly unique world.
Salome Montgomery fears winter—the cold, the snow, the ice, but most of all, the frozen pond she fell through as a child. Haunted by the voices and images of the strange beings that pulled her to safety, she hasn’t forgotten their warning to "stay away." For eleven years, she has avoided the winter woods, the pond, and the darkness that lurks nearby. But when failing health takes her grandparents to Arizona, she is left in charge of maintaining their estate. This includes the "special gifts" that must be left at the back of the property.
Salome discovers she’s a key player in a world she’s tried for years to avoid. At the center of this world is the strange and beautiful Nevin, who she finds trespassing on her family’s property. Cursed with dark secrets and knowledge of the creatures in the woods, his interactions with Salome take her life in a new direction. A direction where she’ll have to decide between her longtime crush Colton, who could cure her fear of winter. Or Nevin who, along with an appointed bodyguard, Gareth, protects her from the darkness that swirls in the snowy backdrop. An evil that, given the chance, will kill her.

Exclusive Excerpt!
The pond water rippled while the trees bent beneath the strong gusts. Soon, everything became so white I couldn’t see the house. In the distance a strange tinkling sounded, like dozens of wind chimes. Not the chimes. Not the chimes. Not the chimes, I repeated over and over in my mind.
What had the shrink told me to do?
Ten, nine, eight. Breathe. Seven, six, five. Shit! I held my head in my hands for a long moment. Get it together.
Panic stole my thoughts and I raised my head, backing away from the pond as the flurries swirled toward me. Chasing me.
I bumped into something—something that felt quite human. A firm chest, arms, hands. Not something, someone. A shriek tumbled from my lips and I spun around to face my captor.
“It’s okay. I won’t hurt you,” a soft masculine voice said, pale hands clinging to my arms as he kept me from falling.
My gaze followed those long fingers, then up black leather sleeves, to the most gorgeous face I’d ever seen. My breath caught in my throat. I was gawking. But I couldn’t help it. His raven hair was shot with strands of blue, his face was pale and perfect, like an ice sculptor had chiseled it into existence. His eyes—oh God, his eyes. They were the palest blue I’d ever seen. Glacial. He had to be over six feet tall, muscles evident through the tight shirt he wore beneath his unzipped leather jacket.
His mouth turned up at the corners as if enjoying my scrutiny. A cocky grin that made my cheeks warm and my whole body buzz. “You’re trespassing.” I tried to keep the tremble from my voice. “This is private property, or can’t you read the signs?” Bravo. I’d scare him off with my bitchiness. He chuckled. And it sounded like the low song of chimes. “Doris doesn’t mind me coming around. In fact, I’ve met you before, Salome.”
My name on his lips made my knees go buttery. I groaned inwardly.

About the Author
Rebekah was born and raised in Michigan (just look for the mitten-shaped state on the map). She’s lived there most of her life other than the few years she spent in the U.S. Army.  At which time she got a chance to experience MO, KS, SC, and CA.
She works full time for the court system and in her free time she writes YA stories. Pretty much any genre within the YA realm is game for her, but her favorites are fantasy, urban fantasy, paranormal romance, thrillers, light sci-fi, and some time travel.
She also has a big family–she like to considers them the modern day Brady Bunch. When her hubby and her met and got married, he had 3 children from a previous marriage, she had 2 and  have 1 together. It’s a lot of fun though.
And she can’t forget her other family members–yep, they’ve got some pets: 4 dogs, 3 cats,  and 1 turtle. Everyone in the family has one…she won’t bore you all with their names (unless you really want to know). Okay, you talked her into it! Jack, Pearl, Grr…(yes that’s her dog’s name), Callie, Shadow, Mooshoo, Grouchy, and Sorbert. Other than writing some of her other hobbies include: reading (mostly YA of course), singing, swimming, football, soccer, running, camping, sledding, church, hanging with her kids, and traveling.
She belong to a fabulous writing group called YA Fiction Fantatics (YAFF) and you guessed it they all write YA!
REPPED by Jennifer Mishler and Frances Black of Literary Counsel.
And that’s her in a big ‘ol nutshell.


Be sure to enter the Giveaway Below!

Friday, August 29, 2014

Book Review: Charming


Title: Charming

Author: Krystal Wade

Genre: YA Fiction

Reviewer: Aly

Book Blurb:
They say what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, and that's great . . . as long as you don't die. 
Sixteen-year-old Haley Tremaine had it all: top-notch school, fantastic family, and a bright future, but all of that changed when an accident tore her family apart. Now, an alcoholic father, a bitter younger sister, and a cold headstone bearing her mother’s name are all she has left.
Chris Charming has it all: a powerful CEO for a father, a prestigious school, and a fortune at his fingertips, but none of that matters when he lands a reputation as a troublemaker. Struggling to follow in his father’s footsteps, he reaches out to the one person he believes truly sees him, the one person he wants: Haley.
Little do they know someone's determined to bring the two together, even if it means murder

Review: 
I’m gonna say this straight out but it’s definitely not a story full of rainbows and butterflies. Although it does have its moments. 

Haley definitely hasn’t had the best life and we hear about much of it up front, which is great, but it leaves a little less mystery to undercover. But at the same time it’s perfect because while we get all of this information about Haley, we know next to nothing about Chris or his actions. It balances things out and definitely makes things interesting.

This book definitely reminds you that kids can be jerks or blind to the obvious. Or at least indifferent. Although who knows maybe Jocelyn sees things differently or a different side of her father.

It almost seems as if Charming is a Cinderella story. And before you say anything yes, I can be a bit slow to pick up on things at times. After all, shouldn’t the last name Charming be a hint at all? But it was definitely a lot better than the disney version. Nothing against it but as I’ve grown I’ve found I’ve felt that I have less and less in common with the story and it just makes things seem more distant to me. So, it was interesting to see an author tackle such a well known story.

There are lots of things that just kind of get dropped on you while reading the book. It adds the shock factor, and it keeps readers reading, just to find out what the next bomb to be dropped will be if not for the excellent story itself.

Emotions were portrayed realistically as was behavior. There were certain places that the author could have gone several ways but I feel that she went in the right way for her characters.

The ending was not a cliffhanger(thank god) or at least not in the typical cliffhanger way. I was extremely happy for this. Cliffhangers are great, but many times it’s more of an annoyance in a good way? If that makes sense. It’s annoying because you want to know what happens but at the same time the excitement to find out is great? But I loved the fact that there wasn’t really much of a cliffhanger in Charming. The ending fit really well. 

Overall, I was pleased with Charming. It was a good spin on the Cinderella story.

Rating:

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Book Review: 1984


Title: 1984

Author: George Orwell

Genre: Negative Utopian

Book Blurb: 
While 1984 has come and gone, Orwell's narrative is more timely that ever. 1984 presents a "negative utopia", that is at once a startling and haunting vision of the world — so powerful that it's completely convincing from start to finish. No one can deny the power of this novel, its hold on the imaginations of entire generations of readers, or the resiliency of its admonitions — a legacy that seems to grow, not lessen, with the passage of time

Review:
So I've done it.  I've finally read the book which answers my question: "Where does the Big Brother reference stem from?" (Not that I was forced to read this book or anything *wink wink nudge nudge cough cough school*  But all silliness aside, this book honestly wasn't exactly wasn't what I expected--it wasn't bad (surprisingly easy to read), the plot and characters just wasn't what I was expecting.

Set in a "negative utopia" (clearly this book was written before the whole "dystopian" phase of 2012-13--not that I have anything against the genre--in fact, it's one of my favorites,) Orwell paints a very grim and futuristic America (well, not futuristic any more consider 1984 passed 30 years ago.)

And here's the thing: I found the setting quite interesting and terrifying and I liked how the main character was an outlier compared to the rest of the people. There were a lot of quotable quotes as well.  But that ending. That ending.  Utter disappointment.

Let me backtrack a bit.

I was rooting for Winston, the protagonist, from the beginning to fight the system.  I was so happy when he met 2 other people who were also against the system, one who happens to induct him into the Brotherhood, the underground movement against the Party (aka the bad guys.)  But then he gets betrayed and gets thrown into prison. And this is where everything goes downhill. 

***Spoiler Alert***

Winston gets brainwashed into loving Big Brother and the Party. Quite literally the last sentence--"He loved big brother" (Orwell, last page of the 1984).  How depressing is that? (By the way, be sure to check out my Why Are High School Reading Books Depressing? discussion.)  I mean, you spend the past 200+ pages cheering along the character to stay strong and not breakdown--but he gets defeated by the Party anyways and even betrays the love of his life.

If there was a sequel to this book, I might have been okay with that because there is hope for Winston to redeem himself--but there is no sequel (unless somebody wants to write one? Any takers?) and I closed the book with a bitter taste in my mouth.

Guess I am a happily-ever-after person.

I would recommend this book if you want something that discusses a serious/grim topic (definitely do not read this if you want a light hearted read!)  It's still an interesting book and I'm glad I've read it.

Rating: